We break new ground in transplantation medicine: we modify the donor organ and not the recipient.

Learn More

Invisible organs:

Genetic organ modification to prevent rejection

Funded by the European Union and the state of Lower Saxony

Invisible Organs:
Genetic organ modification to prevent rejection

Organ rejection, immunosuppression and organ shortage are the major problems in transplantation medicine. Organ transplantation without rejection and immunosuppression must therefore be the aim. To achieve this, we are working on a completely new approach: Cloaking organs. Instead of inducing immunological blindness in the organ recipient through immunosuppression, an immunological invisibility of the donor organ is created.

Transplantaion re-thougt.

"Transplantation needs to be re-thought in order to break new ground. Invisible organs offer the prospect of a life without rejection and immunosuppression, better graft survival, better quality of life and more available organs.”

The wonderful world of invisible organs.

The problem of rejection has been unresolved for decades. It is thus all the more important to look for alternatives and to use new research approaches to achieve the longest possible survival of the donor organs. This is what our innovation network is working on: invisible organs instead of lifelong immunosuppression.

Welcome to the innovation network invisible organs

We break new ground in transplantation medicine: we modify the donors organ instead of the recipient

Rejection and organ shortage are the major hurdles in transplantation medicine. Therefore, the wishful thinking is still the creation of tolerance towards indefinitely available organs. At least when it comes to avoiding rejection, the progress is obvious. The basic idea, however, is almost always to modify the recipient's immune system to achieve immunological blindness to the transplanted organ. But even today the induction of a transplant-specific tolerance remains an unfulfilled dream. Instead, immunological blindness has to be purchased by a general, usually lifelong, immunosuppression, which, despite all the progress made in biomarkers, immunosuppressive drugs and monitoring, still places a high burden on the patient. We are taking a completely new approach to solving the problem of organ rejection: instead of inducing immunological blindness in the organ recipient, an immunological invisibility of the donor organ is created. To this end, during the ex vivo phase of the transplant, the tissue markers causing rejection are permanently switched off. This creates a camouflage that protects the organ from rejection. This new technology offers the prospect of a life without rejection and immunosuppression, better graft survival, better quality of life and more available organs.

Wir gehen neue Wege in der Transplantationsmedizin: Wir modifizieren die Spenderorgane anstelle des Empfängers.

Mehr erfahren

Invisible Organs:

Gentechnische Organmodifikation zur Vermeidung einer Abstoßung

Invisible Organs

Organabstoßung, Immunsuppression und Organmangel sind die Hauptprobleme der Transplantationsmedizin. Organtransplantation ohne Abstoßung und ohne Immunsuppression muss daher das Ziel sein. Dafür arbeiten wir an einem komplett neuen Ansatz: den Tarnkappen für Organe. Anstatt durch eine Immunsuppression eine immunologische Blindheit beim Organempfänger hervorzurufen wird eine immunologische Unsichtbarkeit des Spenderorgans erzeugt.

Transplantation neu gedacht.

„Transplantation muss neu gedacht werden, um neue Wege beschreiten zu können. Unsichtbare Organe bieten die Aussicht auf ein Leben ohne Abstoßung und ohne Immunsuppression, auf ein besseres Transplantatüberleben, mehr Lebensqualität und mehr verfügbare Organe."

Die wunderbare Welt der unsichtbaren Organe.

Die Problematik der Abstoßung ist seit Jahrzehnten ungelöst. Umso wichtiger ist es, nach Alternativen zu suchen und mit neuen Forschungsansätzen ein möglichst langes Überleben der Spenderorgane zu erreichen. Daran arbeitet unser Innovationsverbund: unsichtbare Organe statt lebenslange Immunsuppression.

Willkommen im Innovationsverbund Invisible Organs

Wir gehen neue Wege in der Transplantationsmedizin: Wir modifizieren die Spenderorgane statt den Empfänger

Abstoßung und Organmangel sind die großen Hürden der Transplantationsmedizin. Daher ist der Wunschgedanke nach wie vor die Erzeugung einer Toleranz gegenüber unbegrenzt verfügbaren Organen. Zumindest bei der Vermeidung einer Abstoßung sind die Fortschritte unübersehbar. Dabei ist der Grundgedanke aber fast immer die Modifizierung des Immunsystems des Empfängers zur Erreichung einer immunologischen Blindheit gegenüber dem transplantierten Organ. Allerdings bleibt die Induktion einer Transplantat-spezifischen Toleranz auch heute noch ein unerfüllter Traum. Stattdessen muss die immunologische Blindheit durch eine allgemeine, meist lebenslange, Immunsuppression erkauft werden, die trotz aller Fortschritte bei Biomarkern, Immunsuppressiva und Monitoring dem Patienten noch immer eine hohe Bürde auferlegt. Wir gehen einen komplett neuen Weg, um das Problem der Organabstoßung zu lösen: anstatt eine immunologische Blindheit beim Organempfänger zu induzieren soll eine immunologische Unsichtbarkeit des Spenderorgans erzeugt werden. Dazu werden während der ex vivo Phase des Transplantats die Abstoßungs-verursachenden Gewebemerkmale dauerhaft ausgeschaltet. Dadurch entsteht eine Tarnung, die das Organ vor Abstoßungsattacken verschont. Diese neue Methode bietet die Aussicht auf ein Leben ohne Abstoßung und ohne Immunsuppression, auf ein besseres Transplantatüberleben, mehr Lebensqualität und mehr verfügbare Organe.